ECO-ANXIETY: A SLOW DEATH

I toss and turn,

My body aches my mind lies

I wake up,

The sun sings the birds cry

I step outside,

Buildings rave squirrels die.

 

I cross the road,

Cars rage my lungs weep

I look around,

Artificial memories start to creep

I speed up,

Am I still stuck in sleep?

 

Panic struck,

Why is it all still here?

I run and run

Ridden by fear

Faster, faster!

My existence so drear,

 

I fall to my knees,

I scream I scream

Blood pumping,

Against the stream

Fists clenched,

Am I so extreme?

 

Alive yet lifeless,

Shielded mask

Alive yet lifeless,

Dust at dusk

Alive yet lifeless,

It’s time to unmask!

 

It dawns on me,

I take a breath

I suffocate,

Don’t hold your breath!

For this is

A slow death.

 

 

One thought on “ECO-ANXIETY: A SLOW DEATH

Leave a comment